EU-ICI ECP Education Cooperation Programme Australia, Japan, New Zealand and Republic of Korea 2007-2013 EU-ICI ECP Closed!


ICI-ECP Education Cooperation Programme refers to EU cooperation with Australia, New Zealand, Japan, and the Republic of Korea in the field of higher education and vocational education and training.

The programme includes regional and bilateral cooperation projects based on joint EU - Partner Countries funding and mutual agreement on the selection of higher education partnerships.

The ICI-ECP programme is part of the Industrialised Countries Instrument (ICI) that promotes cooperation between the European Union and seventeen industrialised and other high-income countries and territories in North America, the Asia-Pacific region and the Gulf region. Based on Article 181A of the Treaty, the ICI contributes to fostering the relations of the European Union (EU) with countries and territories which often share similar values, are important political and trading partners, and play an active role in multilateral for a and in global governance.


  • ICI-ECP Joint Mobility projects
  • ICI-ECP activities provide funding for international curriculum development projects that involve short term mobility between the EU and the Partner ICI-ECP Countries. Selected consortia will set up a framework for student mobility whereby EU students will typically spend one semester in the Partner Country institution and vice versa with full recognition of the study period abroad by the home institution. Support will include mobility grants for students and scholars, as well as flat rates/fixed amounts for administering the project.
  • Each proposal must be based on a consortium formed of institutions from the EU and from one given Partner Country. Projects will be selected and funded bilaterally between the EU and each Partner Country.

European community funding

The Community provisional funding available for the programme is:

  • 172,00 Million EUR (Orientation of the budget)