Specific Call for Proposals 2016 - Erasmus Charter for Higher Education 2014-2020 Selection 2017 EACEA/08/2016 Closed!


The Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) provides the general quality framework for European and international cooperation activities a higher education institution (HEI) may carry out within the Erasmus+ Programme.

The award of an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education is a pre-requisite for all HEIs located in the Member States of the European Union and in the EFTA-EEA countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway), the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey, and wanting to apply and participate in learning mobility of individuals and/or cooperation for innovation and good practices under the Programme.

For HEIs located in other countries, the ECHE is not required, and the quality framework is established through inter-institutional agreements between HEIs. The Charter is awarded for the full duration of the Erasmus+ Programme. Implementation of the Charter will be monitored and violation of any of its principles and commitments may lead to its withdrawal by the European Commission.


A call for proposals for award of ECHE is held on annual basis. The ECHE is awarded for the full remaining duration of the Programme until the end of 2020. This means that HEIs awarded with an ECHE in the calls published in 2013, 2014 and 2015 do not need to apply again.

European community funding

The Community provisional funding available for the call for proposals is:

All the important deadlines

  • 31 March 2016 - 5 years ago (Deadline for the presentation of proposals)

Further information about the call

Official webpage of the call

Useful documents

  • Call 2016 - Erasmus Charter for Higher Education 2014-2020 Selection 2017 (Legal base)

Organisations eligible to participate

Opened to the following bodies or institutes with legal status established in the covered areas:

  • Any legal organisation

Covered areas

Bodies or institutes must have their registered legal seat in one of the countries taking part in the Programme which are:

  • European Union (EU)

Directorate-Generale responsible

Directorate-General for Education and Culture

Related calls for proposals

Related calls

Explore other programmes