Organisation and implementation of an annual European Union Prize for rock, pop and dance music EAC/S07/2013 Closed!


The European Border Breakers Awards are one of the special actions foreseen under the Culture Sub-programme of "Creative Europe" (hereafter the Programme), the programme for the cultural and creative sectors (CCS) for the 2014-2020 period, based on Articles 166, 167 and 173 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union hereafter “EU”).
The general objectives of the Programme are to:
  • Foster the safeguarding and promotion of European cultural and linguistic diversity.
  • Strengthen the competitiveness of the cultural and creative sectors with a view to promoting smart, sustainable and inclusive growth.


The EBBA awards aim to recognize and reward the success of emerging talents in the pop, rock and dance music, who manage to achieve success with their first international release in Europe beyond their home country. The objectives of the EBBA awards are as follows:
  • Further increase the visibility and cross-border success of the winners,
  • Inspire other emerging artists so that they can achieve international success, as well as
  • Raise broader awareness in the music industry and among the broader public of the large amount of high quality musical talent in Europe that deserves to be better known and promoted both across the continent and beyond.

European community funding

The Community provisional funding available for the call for proposals is:

  • 0,40 Million EUR (Global Budget)

All the important deadlines

  • 31 January 2014 - 7 years ago (Deadline for the presentation of proposals)

Further information about the call

Official webpage of the call

Useful documents

  • Call for proposals (Legal base)

Organisations eligible to participate

Opened to the following bodies or institutes with legal status established in the covered areas:

  • Public authorities (all)

Covered areas

Bodies or institutes must have their registered legal seat in one of the countries taking part in the Programme which are:

  • European Union (EU)
  • European Economic Area (EEA)
  • Candidate Countries

Directorate-Generale responsible


Related calls for proposals

Related calls

Explore other programmes