Call for Proposals - SESAR Integrated Remotely Piloted Air System Demonstration Activities SJU/LC/0087-CFP Closed!


Single European Sky Air Traffic Management Research (“SESAR”) is a European initiative aiming at modernising and harmonising the European ATM systems ensuring sustainable, safe and efficient air transport development through a performance driven approach.

The purpose of this call for proposals is to select a number of ‘Demonstration Activities’ Projects, including integrated pre-operational flight trials activities, (the “Demonstration Projects”), which shall aim at:

  • demonstrating how to integrate Remotely Piloted Air Systems (“RPAS”) into non-segregated airspace in a multi-aircraft and manned flight environment, in order to explore the feasibility of integration with the wider aviation community by 2016;
  • focusing on concrete results filling the operational and technical gaps identified for Remotely Piloted Air Systems (“RPAS”) integration into non-segregated airspace; and
  • capitalising on the SESAR delivery approach by providing synergies, risk and opportunities, with the overall SESAR programme.


The Demonstration Activities shall:

  • be relevant at European scale;
  • be performed in European Union and/or Eurocontrol member States;
  • cover various types and sizes of Remotely Piloted Air Systems (“RPAS”) integration, and
  • be performed between the third quarter 2013 and first quarter 2015.

European community funding

The Community provisional funding available for the call for proposals is:

  • 4,00 Million EUR (Global Budget)

All the important deadlines

  • 19 April 2013 - 8 years ago (Deadline for the presentation of proposals)

Further information about the call

Official webpage of the call

Useful documents

  • Call fiche SJU/LC/0087-CFP (Guidelines for applicants)

Organisations eligible to participate

Opened to the following bodies or institutes with legal status established in the covered areas:

  • Any legal organisation

Covered areas

Bodies or institutes must have their registered legal seat in one of the countries taking part in the Programme which are:

  • European Economic Area (EEA)
  • European Union (EU)
  • Candidate Countries
  • European Free Trade Association (EFTA)
  • Third countries

Directorate-Generale responsible

Directorate-General for Research

Related calls for proposals

Related calls

Explore other programmes