Call for Proposals MEDIA 2007 - Support for the transnational distribution of European films EACEA/03/11 Closed!


Notice of EACEA/03/11 Call for Proposals is based the implementation of the programme of support for the European audiovisual sector, MEDIA 2007.

One of the measures of the programme is to encourage and support the wider transnational distribution of recent European films by providing funds to distributors, based upon their performance on the market, for further reinvestment in new non-national European films. The scheme also aims to encourage the development of links between the production and distribution sectors thus improving the market share of European films and the competitiveness of European companies.


The ‘Sales Agent’ support scheme works in two phases:

  • generation of a potential Fund, which will be calculated according to the performance of the company on the European market over a given period,
  • reinvestment of the potential Fund: thus generated by each company, the Fund must be reinvested in two modules (two types of action) by 1 March 2013:

1. minimum guarantees or advances paid for the international sales rights on new European non- national films
2. and/or in the promotion, marketing and advertising on the market of new non-national European films.
Action type 1 and 2:
The maximum duration of the actions is 16 months from the date of the signature of the international sales contract.

European community funding

The Community provisional funding available for the call for proposals is:

  • 1,00 Million EUR (Global Budget)

All the important deadlines

  • 17 June 2011 - 10 years ago (Deadline for the presentation of proposals)

Further information about the call

Official webpage of the call

Useful documents

  • Call for Proposals MEDIA 2007 - The Sales Agent scheme (Legal base)

Organisations eligible to participate

Opened to the following bodies or institutes with legal status established in the covered areas:

  • Enterprises

Covered areas

Bodies or institutes must have their registered legal seat in one of the countries taking part in the Programme which are:

  • European Union (EU)
  • Candidate Countries
  • European Economic Area (EEA)
  • Third countries

Directorate-Generale responsible

Directorate-General for the Information Society and Media

Related calls for proposals

Related calls

Explore other programmes