Call for proposals 2011 for indirect actions under the multi-annual Community Programme on protecting children using the Internet and other communication technologies (Safer Internet) Safer Internet 2011 Closed!


According to the general objectives set out by the Safer Internet Programme  aimed at protecting children in the use of Internet and other information technology, the European Commission has launched a call for proposals inviting proposals for actions to be financed by Programme.

The actions outlined in this call for proposals are aligned with the overall objectives of the four lines that make up the Safer Internet Program:

  • Ensuring public awareness
  • Fighting against illegal content and tackling harmful conduct online
  • Promoting a safer online environment
  • Establishing a knowledge base


Action 1: Ensuring public awareness

  • 1.1. Integrated network: Safer Internet Centres
  • 1.2. Integrated network: European co-ordination of Safer Internet centres

Action 2: Fighting against illegal content and tackling harmful conduct online

Action 3: Promoting a safer online environment

  • 3.1. Thematic network: NGO network for child protection on the Internet

Action 4: Establishing a knowledge base

  • 4.1. Knowledge enhancement project: Testing training programmes for professionals working with children at risk

European community funding

The Community provisional funding available for the call for proposals is:

  • 14,13 Million EUR (Global Budget)

All the important deadlines

  • 04 May 2011 - 10 years ago (Deadline for the presentation of proposals)

Further information about the call

Official webpage of the call

Useful documents

  • Call for proposals 2011 Indirect actions Safer Internet (Legal base)

Organisations eligible to participate

Opened to the following bodies or institutes with legal status established in the covered areas:

  • Any legal organisation

Covered areas

Bodies or institutes must have their registered legal seat in one of the countries taking part in the Programme which are:

  • European Union (EU)
  • European Free Trade Association (EFTA)
  • European Economic Area (EEA)
  • Candidate Countries
  • Third countries

Directorate-Generale responsible

Directorate-General for the Information Society and Media

Related calls for proposals