Call for Proposals - Tempus IV — Reform of higher education through international university cooperation EACEA/32/10 Closed!


The purpose of this call for proposals is to promote multilateral cooperation among higher education institutions, authorities and organisations from EU Member States and partner countries with the focus on the reform and modernisation of higher education.

The Education, Audiovisual and Culture Agency, acting under powers delegated from the European Commission, is responsible for the management of this call for proposals.


The two principal instruments for cooperation through this Tempus call for proposals are:

  • Joint Projects: projects with a ‘bottom-up’ approach aiming at modernisation and reform on an institutional (university) level. Joint Projects aim at transferring knowledge between universities, organisations and institutions from the EU and from the partner countries as well as between partner country entities as appropriate
  • Structural Measures: projects seeking to contribute to the development and reform of higher education systems in partner countries, as well as to enhance their quality and relevance and to increase their voluntary convergence with EU developments. Structural Measures will be interventions designed to support structural reform of higher education systems and the strategic framework development at national level.

European community funding

The Community provisional funding available for the call for proposals is:

  • 48,70 Million EUR (Orientation of the budget)

All the important deadlines

  • 15 February 2011 - 10 years ago (Deadline for the presentation of proposals)

Further information about the call

Official webpage of the call

Useful documents

  • Call for Proposals - Tempus IV — International university cooperation (Legal base)

Organisations eligible to participate

Opened to the following bodies or institutes with legal status established in the covered areas:

  • Any legal organisation

Covered areas

Bodies or institutes must have their registered legal seat in one of the countries taking part in the Programme which are:

  • European Union (EU)
  • Third countries

Directorate-Generale responsible

Directorate-General for Education and Culture

Related calls for proposals