Call for proposals for the implementation of Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window in the academic year 2009-2010 - EACEA/35/08 ERASMUS MUNDUS Closed!


The Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window aims at mutual enrichment and better understanding between the European Union and Third Countries. It is designed to foster institutional co-operation in the field of higher education between the European Union and Third Countries through a mobility scheme addressing student and academic exchanges for the purpose of studying, teaching, training and research.

This is the third EM External Cooperation Window (ECW) call for proposals and that EM ECW is integrated as Action II ‘Partnerships’ under the new Erasmus Mundus II programme aiming at promoting institutional co-operation and mobility activities.


The EC grants will contribute to financing institutional-based partnerships of European and Third Country higher education institutions to cover the following types of activities:

  1. The organisation of individual mobility of higher education students and academic staff.
  2. The implementation of individual mobility. The types of mobility and education to be funded in this call are:
  • Students: undergraduate, master, doctorate and post-doctorate mobility opportunities.
  • Academic staff: exchanging for the purposes of teaching, practical training and research.

European community funding

The Community provisional funding available for the call for proposals is:

  • 163,50 Million EUR (Annual budget for 2009)

All the important deadlines

  • 13 March 2009 - 12 years ago (Deadline for the presentation of proposals)

Further information about the call

Useful documents

  • Call for proposals for the implementation of Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window in 2009-2010 - EACEA/35/08 (Legal base)

Organisations eligible to participate

Opened to the following bodies or institutes with legal status established in the covered areas:

  • Universities
  • Enterprises

Covered areas

Bodies or institutes must have their registered legal seat in one of the countries taking part in the Programme which are:

  • European Union (EU)
  • Third countries
  • European Free Trade Association (EFTA)
  • European Economic Area (EEA)
  • Candidate Countries

Directorate-Generale responsible

Directorate-General for Education and Culture

Related calls for proposals