First Public Choice EBBA winner to be revealed on 14 January

A glittering show will mark the success of this years' winners of the 2010 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBAs). 8 award winners will be performing live in the show together with Jools Holland and last years' EBBA winner Ida Corr. The show will be covered on television throughout Europe. The European public have voted for the act they would like to receive the 'Public Choice EBBA' and the winner will be announced during the show.

The European Border Breaker Awards are given to European artists or groups for their international debut and their success in reaching audiences outside their own country. They are presented by the European Commission, in cooperation with the European Broadcasting Union (EBU).

Their aim is to stimulate the mobility of artists and the circulation of their work within Europe and beyond, as well as to raise awareness and appreciation among audiences for music from outside their national borders.

For the first time, europeans can choose their winners of the EBBA public choice awards. The award scheme is funded through the EU Culture Programme, which also funds the European Union Contemporary Architecture Prize, the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage and the European Union Prize for Literature.

The European Border Breaker Award Ceremony will take place in the Oosterpoort Theatre in Groningen, Netherlands on 14th January 2010 – during the the EuroSonic Noorderslag Festival and will be attended by HRH Princess Máxima of the Netherlands.

The 2010 EBBA winners are:

  • Milow “Milow” – Belgium
  • Charlie Winston “Hobo” – United Kingdom
  • Peter Fox “Stadtaffe” – Germany
  • Soap & Skin “Lovetune for Vacuum” – Austria
  • Kerli “Love Is Dead” – Estonia
  • Jenny Wilson “Hardships” – Sweden
  • Buraka Som Sistema “Black Diamond” – Portugal
  • Sliimy “Paint Your Face” – France
  • Esmee Denters “Outta Here” – The Netherlands
  • Giusy Ferreri “Non Ti Scordar Mai Di Me” – Italy