EC Association Agreement with Central America

The European Commission, negotiating on behalf of the EU, and the Central American countries of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama (observer),  met in Brussels from 25 to 29 February 2008 for a second round of negotiations in view of an Association Agreement, including a free trade area between the EU and Central America.

A first round took place in Costa Rica last October and four other rounds are envisaged this year. The objective is to conclude, if possible by 2009, a comprehensive Agreement, which would enhance the political dialogue between both regions, intensify the cooperation in a vast variety of areas and facilitate bi-regional trade and investments. About 300 delegates and civil society actors from Central America will be traveling to Brussels.