Presented the first nine pre-selected sites to receive the 2013 European Heritage Label

The selection of the first pre-seleted sites to receive the European Heritage Label is reserved in 2013 to Austria, Estonia, Denmark, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, who did not take part in the previous intergovernmental and have expressed their will to participate in the new Label.

Within the procedure to elect the sites, a list with the pre-selected sites is published every year by member states. The European Commission then select those sites which make up the final selection of sites in consultation with a panel of independent experts. The European Heritage Label that was agreed in 2011, is awarded to selected sites and monuments, archaeological, industrial, natural, underwater or urban sites, cultural landscapes, memorials, and cultural objects or elements of "intangible heritage" associated with a place.

The five countries participating in the 2013 Label award have pre-selected nine sites. These include the archaeological park Carnutum and national thematic site "Stille Nacht! Heilige Nacht "in Austria, the Carlsberg, the Dybbøl Hill and the Cistercian monastery Logumkloster in Denmark; the Estonian History Museum Great Guild Hall in Estonia; Schenguen in Luxembourg; and the Palace of Peace and Camp Westerbork in the Netherlands.

An independent jury of experts will select the site that will be awarded the European Heritage Label. To date, a total of 64 sites have obtained this Label which aims to celebrate the European cultural heritage and raise awareness especially young Europeans on common European heritage and identity.