The 2013 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture unveils the finalists

The European Commission announced the five finalists together with the Fundació Mies van der Rohe for the 2013 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award. In total, 335 works in the 37 European countries which participate in the EU Culture programme were nominated for the award.

2013 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award that highlights the contribution of European architects to the development of new ideas and technologies in contemporary urban development, has already its five finalists:

  • City Hall, Ghent, Belgium. Architects: Robbrecht en Daem architecten; Marie-José Van Hee architecten
  • Superkilen (intercultural urban park), Copenhagen, Denmark. BIG Bjarke Ingels Group; Topotek1; Superflex
  • Harpa - Reykjavik Concert Hall & Conference Centre, Reykjavik, Iceland. Batteríid Architects; Henning Larsen Architects; Studio Olafur Eliasson
  • House for Elderly People, Alcácer do Sal, Portugal. Aires Mateus Arquitectos
  • Metropol Parasol (cultural and commercial space), Seville, Spain. J. Mayer H.

The €60,000 prize is the most prestigious in European architecture. It is awarded every other year for a work completed within the previous two years. This year’s ceremony is the 13th to take place since its launch. The overall winner of the Prize, as well as the 'special mention' award for best emerging architect, will be announced in May, with an award ceremony on 6 June at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain.