European Parliament Journalism Prize 2011 winners announced

The European Parliament's fourth annual prize for excellence in journalism has been granted to French, Italian, Finnish and German journalists. The winners, in four categories, written press, internet, TV and radio, each received €5,000.

Jerzy Buzek, President of the European Parliament, attended to the ceremony of the European Journalism Prize 2011 and highlighted how difficult it can be to explain Europe, its policies and its decisions. He also stressed during his speech at the awarding ceremony that promoting a better understanding of the EU is sometimes hard and complicated, but it is vital. The application period was opened in January 2011.

The 2011 edition winners are:

  • Romain Gubert of the French weekly journal Le Point won the written press award for his article "The incredible story of the Euro". The article relates in detail the story of the Euro, with testimonies from some of its progenitors, such as Jacques Delors and Christian Noyer.
  • Massimiliano Nespola of Italy won the Internet award for his article in the Sapienza University of Rome's electronic journal "We do not know when, but a European constitution will come".
  • Tero Koskinen of the Finnish Broadcasting Company YLE won the TV award for the reportage "Return of the Roma", on the conditions of Roma adults and children living in a caravan camp in Helsinki, which asks who should take responsibility for them at individual, local, national and European levels.
  • Steffen Wurzel of Germany won in the radio award for his report "Refugees, facilitators and fences" broadcast by SWR, a German media company. This radio report investigated how the EU deals with refugees at its frontiers, notably on the Greek-Turkish border.

The award ceremony was followed by a panel discussion entitled: "Nothing is impossible: reporting on human rights and international conflicts". The national winners from EU Member States attended the event, as well as 60 young journalists who are participating in a workshop hosted by the European Parliament.