The Commission announced the 2012 European Border Breakers Awards winners

The top new talents in European pop music, the winners of the 2012 European Border Breakers Awards, were announced by Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth and music festival Eurosonic Noorderslag.

The European Commission announced the 2012 Winners of the European Border Breakers' pop awards, which will receive will receive their awards in a televised ceremony hosted by TV personality and musician Jools Holland at the Eurosonic Noorderslag music festival in Groningen, Netherlands, on 11 January 2012. The winners are selected by music market analyst Nielsen Music Control on the basis of record sales and broadcast frequency and according to votes by European Broadcasting Union (EBU) radio stations and festivals participating in the European Talent Exchange Program (ETEP). This program boosts circulation of talented European artists among a network of European summer festivals. It creates opportunities for professionals in the European music business and ultimately contributes to the development of the European music industry.

The European music industry makes an important contribution to growth and jobs, accounting for a significant part of cultural and creative industries, which provide quality jobs for 8.5 million people in the EU and contribute 4.5% to Europe's GDP. The total value of the EU recorded music market is around €6 billion a year. The European recorded music market presents around a fifth of the total music market which is worth close to €30 billion.

The winners of the 2012 awards are:

  • Elektro Guzzi (Austria)
  • Selah Sue (Belgium)
  • Agnes Obel (Denmark)
  • Ben l'Oncle Soul (France)
  • Boy (Germany)
  • James Vincent McMorrow (Ireland)
  • Afrojack (Netherlands)
  • Alexandra Stan (Romania)
  • Swedish House Mafia (Sweden)
  • Anna Calvi (UK)

This is the ninth year for he awards which are funded by the EU Culture Programme and organized by Eurosonic Noorderslag, in partnership with the EBU. Former winners of the 'EBBAs' include Adele, The Baseballs, Carla Bruni, KT Tunstall, Tokio Hotel, The Ting Tings, Lykke Li, The Scripts, Milow, Katie Melua, Mumford and Sons and Caro Emerald.