EP calls on France and other MS for immediate suspension of expulsions of Roma

The European Parliament has adopted on 9 September a resolution about the situation of Roma people and the free movement within the European Union, urging French authorities and other Member States to cease in mass expulsions of Roma people and to avoid this kind of attitude which violates EU law and promote racist behaviours.

In its resolution the European Parliament calls on French authorities and those of other Member States for the immediate halt to the expulsions of Roma people, urging the rejection of any statement linking minorities and immigrants to criminality. The resolution finally adopted House by 337 votes in favour, 245 against and 51 abstentions.

The Chamber noted that any restriction on the free movement of citizens can only be seen as an exception and that the lack of resources in any case can lead to the automatic expulsion. MEPs aldo added that the expulsion for reasons of public order or safety, can only be applied individually and expulsion decisions should be taken case by case and with full respect for due process.

Parliament's resolution pointed out that taking fingerprinting of deported Roma people is illegal and contrary to the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the EU.

The Parliament has been also very critical with the Commission and the Council for the late response in relation to this summer expulsions from France, as this measures compliance with Community law should have been reviewed. The Commission should stand firmly behind the values and principles enshrined in the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union and the Treaties and respond promptly with a full analysis of the situation in France and in all the Member States.

Members also complain that the Commission has not yet responded to EP's calls to prepare a European strategy for the Roma population and have lamented the lack of political will demonstrated by Member States during the Second Summit of Roma inclusion, held in Cordoba last 8 April, only attended by three ministers.